Books & Web

First Book Club Meeting Tonight: Join us for live Spreecast with the author of Wife 22

First Book Club Meeting Tonight: Join us for live Spreecast with the author of Wife 22 #theeverygirl

Join us tonight for a live Spreecast as we chat with the author of WIFE 22, Melanie Gideon.

When: 9:30 EST / 8:30 CST / 7:30 MST / 6:30 PST

Where: Visit this blog post as it will have a direct feed of the video conference!

SORRY - DUE TO TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES, THE BOOK CLUB WILL HAVE TO BE RESCHEDULED. STAY TUNED AND THANK YOU TO THOSE OF YOU WITH PATIENCE WHO PUT UP WITH ALAINA'S ONE-WOMAN SHOW FOR 20 MINUTES.

Getting started: All you need to video chat for book club is a reasonably up-to-date browser and Adobe Flash. You don’t need to have an account to watch the live feed, but you do need to create a free Spreecast account in order to use most other features (chat, submit questions, etc.).

Joining in: There are three ways to participate in The Random House Reader’s Circle for The Everygirl book club chat:

  • Chat with other readers around the country about WIFE 22.
  • Submit a “Comment/Question.” The producers of the video chat will review it, and if chosen, it will appear on screen for all to see and for author Melanie Gideon to answer.
  • Press the “Join on Camera” button. When you do that, follow the instructions on your screen to allow the video platform to hook up to your webcam and microphone. You will see yourself appear in a little box in the bottom left. You are not yet on camera, as the producer of the Spreecast controls who appears on screen. You will have an opportunity to privately chat with the producer. If your request is approved, you will be “on deck” in the producer’s Queue to go on the air. When the producer decides to put you on, you’ll go live. Make sure you are ready with your question or comments!

If you choose not to go on video, that's fine! You can watch the discussion between Everygirl editors, Alaina Kaczmarski and Danielle Moss, author Melanie Gideon, and a Random House representative. You can submit questions via Facebook or Twitter, or live chat with others participating.

Tweet: Follow along on Twitter with hashtag #TEGbookclub

Submit your questions for the author: Feel free to submit questions or comments now! Alaina and Danielle will have them on hand to ask Melanie Gideon.

Can't make the book club meeting? The whole interview will be recorded and stored on The Everygirl site.

We're so excited and look forward to all of you joining in! And stay tuned as we'll announce our next Book Club pick tomorrow.